Chair still life

chair.jpg

In this still life I incorporated  value to highlights where the cloth curves and folds. I also used it to define shadows and patterns in the cloth. One principle of design I used was contrast. I used this especially in the chair legs to highlight the difference in the materials. I also used it on the edges of the folds to incorporate depth.

In this piece I used a photo to get the general idea of the form using negative space and then used the still life to draw the pattern, lighting, and folds. I decided to make my piece slightly stylized giving it a rough feeling. I didn’t make the dark charcoal marks smooth but instead purposely made them patchy. I used the blending tool to create shadows and the lighter spaces between the dark stripes. The gummy eraser and the white charcoal pencil was used to create highlights.

This entry was posted in Best Work, charcoal, Non-timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

